Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00

Ranney Letter #1

Lewis to Henry, 1839

This is the first of the Ranney Letters I found in a folder in the Ashfield Historical Society’s archives. First I give a brief history of the family’s growth in Middletown Connecticut and move to Ashfield. Then I read the first letter. You can read a long (either the original handwritten pages or my transcription) in the free Pressbooks ebook. If you’d like to support the work, the best way is with a contributing subscription to this Substack. If you’re interested in a print version (which I’ve been considering producing but haven’t been convinced there’s a “market”), let me know.

0 Comments
MakingHistory and Lifelong Learning
Primary Sources
I read and comment on Primary Source readings out of (mostly) American History, so you can hear voices of the people who were there, rather than just historians.
Authors
Dan Allosso