Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Transcript

Peppermint Kings, Chapter 3, part 2

In this video I read the second half of the third chapter of my book, which is titled “Essence and Peddlers”. In addition to the story of the people who grew and distilled peppermint oil, I discovered that Ashfield was the main home of the famous Yankee Peddlers of the nineteenth century, who brought goods to the remotest farms and villages of early America, along with news and ideas from the northeast (including notions that some southerners found disturbing). And I discovered just how significant peppermint and the peddler trade were to Ashfield’s economy.

A reminder, you can currently get a hardcover copy of the book, produced by the Yale University Press, for the bargain price of $11.48!

Discussion about this podcast

MakingHistory
MakingHistory
Making History is the top-level thing I do, as a historian, teacher, and writer. I create content, based on either original primary research or to present the findings of other historians to my students. This channel will cover several topics I am researching or teaching, and reflections on the ways that history helps us understand our current world.